Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Introduction to HSE Library Services: E-books and audio. books

Introduction to HSE Library Services

Introduction

E-books are integrated into the library catalogue (choose 'Digital Items' from the drop-down menu) and can also be found via Search E-Library on the main library website
 

E-Book collections

 You can also search our e-book   collections, such as:

 *Health Research Premium Collection* (from ProQuest & Chadwyck-Healey)

 [OpenAthens account details   required; multiple resources; over 8,000 eBooks]

 *National eBook Collection* (from ProQuest) 

 [select your location from the drop-down menu, you will then need your OpenAthens   account details]

 *Mental Health eBook Collection* (from ProQuest) 

 [you will need your OpenAthens account details for full-text access]

 *ClinicalKey eBooks*

 [you will need your OpenAthens details to access this resource]

Find an E-book using Search E-Library

Go to Search E-Library, type your search keywords in the search box, then refine your results by [Source Type] 'Books' 

Search E-Library example - E-book

HSE E-books- examples

BorrowBox examples - E-books and Audiobooks

E-books - 'Mental Health Reads'

Audiobooks - 'Listen for Wellbeing'

E-books - 'Diet and Healthy Eating'

BorrowBox Health and Wellbeing eBooks and Audiobooks

BorrowBox gives access to a large collection of eBooks and eAudiobooks on health and wellbeing. The app allows you to download and enjoy eBooks and eAudiobooks on your phone or tablet. You can browse the collection by keyword, title, author or narrator.

BorrowBox is accessible to all HSE staff with an OpenAthens account.

To access BorrowBox, follow these steps:

  • Download the Borrowbox app
  • Type 'HSE' in the ‘Library’ field and select 'HSE National Health Library and Knowledge Service'
  • Sign in with your OpenAthens username
  • Enter your surname as password

Download the Borrowbox user guide for further information on how to use this app or Browse our Full BorrowBox Collection here

Contact hselibrary@hse.ie if you have any problems

National Health Library & Knowledge Service. Health Service Executive. Dr. Steevens' Hospital, Dublin 8. Tel: 01-6352555/8. Email: hselibrary@hse.ie

Disclaimer