Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Accessing eLibrary Resources

A guide on how to access the eLibrary resources provided by the NHLKS remotely.

In response to the COVID-19 pandemic we have added some new resources to the library collections. In addition we have some products on a trial-only basis.

 

Details of all resources are available at hselibrary.ie. Most require an Athens account - HSE employees can register online for an Athens account if needed.

 

If you have problems accessing resources contact us by email at hselibrary@hse.ie

 

ELSEVIER Clinical Skills logo

Clinical Skills is now available openly to all Irish healthcare workers (No login needed). A range of 37 skills are available including;

GIDEON Infectious disease logo

GIDEON (Global Infectious Diseases and Epidemiology Online Network)

This resource focuses on detection, prevention, and treatment of infectious diseases providing. It provides access to epidemiological information and disease tracking details.

GIDEON is available on the HSE network and can be accessed here remotely via Athens

 

undefined

Web of Science

A collection of over 21,000 peer-reviewed, high-quality scholarly journals covering over 250 science, social sciences, and humanities disciplines.

Web of Science also includes conference proceedings and book data. It is available on the HSE network and accessible via Athens.

 

 

undefined

The Medicines Complete package now includes:

  • The Handbook of Injectable Drugs
  • Injectable drugs guide

These new resources along with our other Medicines Complete products are available on the HSE (and selected section 38 hospitals) networks and accessible remotely via Athens

Resources available on a trial basis

visualDx logo 

(Trial access available until the 24th of May, 2020)

VisualDx is a clinical decision support tool, and includes access to the apps and DermExpert. Find out more about visualDx.

Access visualDx through your Athens account

Global Health Database

(Trial access available until June 23rd, 2020)

"GLOBAL HEALTH brings together the resources of two internationally renowned databases - the Public Health and Tropical Medicine (PHTM) database, previously produced by the Bureau of Hygiene and Tropical Diseases (BHTD), and the human health and diseases information extracted from CAB ABSTRACTS."

Access Global Health through your Athens account

 

 

 

 

National Health Library & Knowledge Service. Health Service Executive. Dr. Steevens' Hospital, Dublin 8. Tel: 01-6352555/8. Email: hselibrary@hse.ie

Disclaimer