Skip to main content

Guide to Library Services at Naas General Hospital: Databases

This is a short guide on how to make the most of accessing both print and electronic services from the Naas General Hospital Library

HSE Library Databases

All electronic resources that HSE employees have access to are available from the Naas Library page. The list of resources there includes databases, along with e-book packages, point-of-care tools etc. Some of these databases will require an OpenAthens account. Accounts may be set up here.

OpenAthens log in needed          No log in needed (free access from anywhere)
CINAHL  PubMed  
SOCindex       Cochrane Library
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection  Lenus
Embase    OTseeker
Joanna Briggs Institute   PEDro
  TRIP (Advanced search is premium)

Web of Science can be accessed outside the HSE network by signing in. Register for an account by going to Web of Science using a HSE computer.

Guides to some of the major databases can be found below.

PubMed

PubMed comprises more than 27 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed covers medicine, nursing and related health science subjects. PubMed is a free resource that is developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).

See below for a useful guide on how to get the most out of PubMed.

CINAHL

CINAHL is the world’s most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing and allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. This database contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature.

See below for a short guide on how to use CINAHL.

PEDro

PEDro (Physiotherapy Evidence Database) is a bibliographic database containing randomized trials, clinical practice guidelines and systematic reviews in the field of physiotherapy. All trials on PEDro are independently assessed for quality. 

A search guide can be found here.

Cochrane Library

The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision making, including the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, the Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects and the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials.At its core is the collection of Cochrane Reviews, a database of systematic reviews and meta-analyses which summarise and interpret the results of medical research.

See below for a useful guide on how to get the most out of the Cochrane Library.

Web of Science

Web of Science is a comprehensive research platform. Journal articles, patents, websites, conference proceedings and Open Access material can all be accessed through the interface, using a variety of powerful search and analysis tools. Web of Science Core Collection is an actively curated database of the journals that researchers themselves have judged to be the most important and useful in their fields.

Some useful instructional videos to help you get started can be found here.

Lenus

Lenus is Ireland's leading health repository. It contains journal articles, dissertations, HSE publications and the collected output of more than 130 health organisations past and present, all freely accessible

A user guide is available here.

OTseeker

OTseeker is a database that contains abstracts of systematic reviews, randomised controlled trials and other resources relevant to occupational therapy interventions. Most trials have been critically appraised for their validity and interpretability.

A search help guide is available here.

Embase

Embase  is a biomedical and pharmacological database containing more than 30 million records including articles from more than 8,500 journals published world-wide. It contains bibliographic records with citations, abstracts and indexing derived from biomedical articles in peer reviewed journals, and is especially strong in its coverage of drug and pharmaceutical research, pharmacology and toxicology.

A link to the database is available from the Naas Library pageOpenAthens account needed for access.

A full guide to Embase is available here.

Joanna Briggs Institute

The Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database allows you to search a wide range of summarized and appraised evidence to inform your practice. The range of resources includes 3,000 records across seven publication types: Evidence Based Recommended Practices, Evidence Summaries, Best Practice Information Sheets, Systematic Reviews, Consumer Information Sheets, Systematic Review Protocols, and Technical Reports.

A link to the database is available from the Naas Library page. OpenAthens account needed for access.

 

PsycINFO

PsycINFO is a database of abstracts of literature in the field of psychology and related disciplines such as psychiatry and medicine.

To log in, select "Use OpenAthens login" on the right hand side of the home page. Select "Health Service Executive (Ireland) from the drop-down menu and click on "connect".

Help on using the database is available here.

National Health Library & Knowledge Service. Health Service Executive. Dr. Steevens' Hospital, Dublin 8. Tel: 01-6352555/8. Email: hselibrary@hse.ie

Disclaimer