Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Mental Health: Electronic resources

The Mental Health guide is a collection of basic resources to assist health professionals working in the Irish mental health services. We welcome any feedback or sugestions for inclusion.

The Cochrane Library

The Cochrane Library

The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases containing high-quality independent evidence to inform healthcare decision making. The centerpiece of the Library is the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. These are comprehensive surveys of the literature in a given field. They are carried out by expert teams utilising explicit methodologies to reduce bias in their studies and can be considered the 'gold standard' of clinical reviews.

The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews contains many mental health studies, so it's always worth checking here to see if your clinical query has been adddressed.

Lenus - the Irish health repository

Resources provided by National Health Library & Knowledge Service

 
   
Mental health professionals can now access the British National Formulary online.
   
Clinical Key is an extensive collection of full-text medical / nursing journals published by Elsevier.
   
BMJ Best Practice is a state-of-the-art decision-making tool, intended for use in the clinical setting. Available to all health practitioners in the Republic of Ireland.


 

 

Databases

PubMed is perhaps the world's best-known and most widely-used clinical database. Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, it contains some 24 million bibliographic references and is free to use.

Cinahl is a bibliographic database devoted to nursing and allied health disciplines such as physiotherapy, speech therapy etc. If you have an Athens account you can search for research on a wide range of topics, along with a substantial amount of full-text papers.

PsycInfo is a database specialising in mental health, psychiatry and intellectual disabilities. It has nearly 4 million references, 99% the journals indexed are peer-reviewed. You'll need an Athens account to access it, but it's an essential complement to Medline/PubMed.

ICD-10

ICD-10

The ICD-10 (International Classification of Diseases) is the World Health Organisation's diagnostic tool for health. It is used by healthcare workers and researchers all over the world in the diagnosis of illness, including mental illnesses.

Mental Health Hub

If you're working in or with the Irish mental health services you should join the Mental Health Hub. The Hub is a collection of resources and e-learning programmes designed to keep you up to date with the technicalities of implementing the Mental Health Act 2001. Applying is quick and free on HSELanD!

National Health Library & Knowledge Service. Health Service Executive. Dr. Steevens' Hospital, Dublin 8. Tel: 01-6352555/8. Email: hselibrary@hse.ie

Disclaimer